Skip to main content

IDF says Gaza strikes in Nuseirat and Khan Younis killed two Hamas members

The Israeli military says it killed a Nukhba platoon commander and a second Hamas operative on Friday, accusing both of planning attacks during the ceasefire.

The Israel.com Newsroom··3 min read·
Share
Security. A drawn locator map of Nuseirat, showing where this was reported. Israel.com does not illustrate reports of this kind with photographs.

The Israel Defense Forces (IDF), Israel's military, said on Saturday that it had killed two members of Hamas's armed wing in two separate airstrikes in the Gaza Strip the day before. According to the IDF spokesperson, one strike in the Nuseirat area killed Ibrahim Fawzi Ismail Mohsen, whom the military described as a platoon commander in Hamas's Nukhba unit.

A second strike on Friday, in the Khan Younis area, killed Mohammed Kamel Suleiman Mohsen, who the military said was another operative in the group's military wing. The Times of Israel reported the announcement, noting that the IDF accused both men of working to rebuild Hamas infrastructure and of advancing attacks on soldiers and Israeli civilians. Hebrew-language outlets including N12, Ynet and News.co.il carried the same military statement.

What the sources posted

Posted by Emanuel Fabian on X on X. Any photograph or video in it was published by that account, and Israel.com has not independently verified it.

What the military alleges

The IDF's account is the only source for who the two men were and what they were doing. The military said both had been pushing forward plans for attacks against its troops and against Israeli civilians, and had acted to restore Hamas capabilities "in systematic violation of the ceasefire," as quoted by The Times of Israel. The military said the strikes were carried out to "remove the threat that they posed."

The statement did not describe any specific planned attack, and it did not say how the strikes were conducted beyond identifying the areas where they took place.

What the Nukhba unit is

Nukhba, an Arabic word usually translated as "elite," is the name of a Hamas force. The Times of Israel described it as the group's elite Nukhba Force. In the Hebrew version of the IDF statement, Ibrahim Fawzi Ismail Mohsen is called a "mefaked mahlaket Nukhba," which translates as a Nukhba platoon commander. A platoon is a small military formation, so the title places him in a junior field command role rather than in the senior leadership of the organisation.

The English-language reporting describes him slightly differently from the military. The IDF statement calls him a platoon commander, while the Times of Israel report refers to him as a Hamas commander and as a member of the Nukhba Force. These descriptions are compatible, but readers should note that the specific rank comes from the IDF.

Where the strikes took place

Nuseirat is a refugee camp in the central part of the Gaza Strip, as The Times of Israel noted. Khan Younis is a city in the south of the territory. A photograph accompanying the Times of Israel report showed smoke rising after an Israeli strike in the al-Mawasi area of Khan Younis, though the caption did not state that this was the strike the IDF described in its announcement.

The ceasefire context

The military framed both killings as a response to alleged breaches of a ceasefire in Gaza. The IDF has, in statements of this kind, described strikes on individual Hamas members as action against threats that it says violate the truce. The reports on this event do not describe the terms of the ceasefire or say whether Hamas has responded to the allegation that its members were violating it.

How the news was reported

The announcement was first published by the IDF spokesperson on the military's official Telegram channel. It was then relayed within minutes by Israeli news outlets and by Emanuel Fabian, the military correspondent for The Times of Israel, on his Telegram channel and on X. All of the reports rely on the IDF statement; none contains independent reporting from the scene.

What the reports do not say

The reports do not say whether anyone other than the two named men was killed or injured in either strike. They do not say whether the two men, who share the surname Mohsen, were related. They give no detail of the attacks the military says the pair were planning, and they do not include any response from Hamas or from health officials in Gaza. The precise time of each strike, and the type of weapon used, are also not stated.

Topicsgazahamasidfceasefire

Sources and further reading

Every link below was opened and checked when this page was written. Official statements are marked as such: they are the subject's own account, not an independent one.

  1. Officialidft.me
    IDF spokesperson
  2. Reportingyediotht.me
    Ynet alerts
  3. Reportingtoitimesofisrael.com
    The Times of Israel
  4. Reportingtoit.me
    Emanuel Fabian, Times of Israel military correspondent
  5. Reportingnewssilt.me
    News.co.il
  6. Reportingkeshett.me
    N12
  7. Reportingtoix.com
    Emanuel Fabian on X

How we checked this

The strikes and the identities of the two men were announced by the IDF spokesperson and relayed by The Times of Israel, N12, Ynet and News.co.il. All details, including the men's roles and alleged plans, come from the IDF alone and have not been independently verified.

Our sourcing and corrections policy →

The week from Israel, in one email

The stories that mattered, sourced and checked by the Israel.com newsroom. Free, weekly, one-click unsubscribe.

One list, unsubscribe in a click. See our privacy policy.

More in Security

All security →

Latest

← All news